< Back to IRCAM Forum

Using SOFA files in the browser

I am planning to set up a web-based application environment for a research project and would like to order custom HRTFs from a service (earfish.eu) to use in the project.

Since I am completely new to the field of spatial audio, I was wondering about the current state of things concerning custom HRTFs in the browser and if someone could point me in the proper direction.

I have read a paper from 2015 that uses custom HRTFs by compiling them into a custom Chromium build:

Then there is a project by IRCAM that provides a special Node to be used with the Web Audio API:

Both approaches seem doable (with the Chromium build being the less attractive option), but are both rather old. Is there anything more recent or would this still be the options to go with?

Another newbie question: What do I need to go from SOFA to the list of IR Composite audio files that are used both in the Chromium build and the binauralFIR node? Do you have any tips on relevant documentation or converters?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Anton,

Back in 2015, I wrote a paper about loading custom HRTFs in the browser:
https://hal.science/hal-01247528/document

I hope you will find it useful.
I have not really followed closely the evolution of the WebAudioAPI, but I’m afraid that nothing has changed with regard to loading custom HRTFs.

As the WAA built-in PannerNode cannot load custom HRTF, we have developed our own custom binauralFIR Node (as you saw).
This node used to work in collaboration with : GitHub - Ircam-RnD/serveSofaHrir: NodeJS module to fetch and shape SOFA formated HRIR sets from server
which fetches SOFA data from openDAP server (http://opendap.ircam.fr), and the server converts SOFA to JSON. I have no idea if this workflow is still working today. (hopefully yes)
The whole openDAP world was quite poorly documented. (no idea if this has improved since 2015)