< Back to IRCAM Forum

Writing a library for OM-sharp and OMCS library

Hi everyone!
I am trying to adapt a OM library to OM-sharp. Since I am new to the latter, I have a few questions about how to proceed:

Best Regards,

Paulo.

Hi Paulo,

In principle you shouldn’t need to change your code to adapt your OM library for OM#.
You can just use the same source code (and the same repository), and add a OM-AIS.omlib file in it.

At the difference with the “.lisp” file that loads the OM library, the “.omlib” file doesn’t contain Lisp code that is evaluated, so you can not add such thing as (defpackage ...), or (print "...") in it. If you need to do so, you can indeed add another file in the sources (package.lisp) where the package is defined.
Then again, you shouldn’t have to make any change in the rest of the sources.

Can you precise how you are doing that ?

Could you attach an actual patch maybe ?

Hi Jean,
Thank you for your response and suggestions.
I have just made this file with another version of the library. I had to make just a little change in OM’s code and change the location of a folder (AIS). I don’t know if is this correct, but apparently its working.

Best Regards,

Paulo

Hi Jean,

Sorry, I forgot to include the attachment. 

AIS-calculations.opat (95.4 KB)

I was trying to insert a comment inside the patch, but now the error message is gone.
Captura de Tela 2021-01-13 às 11.35.40

Hi Paulo,

I tested your library with OM 6.17 and OM# and it seems to work on both softs, Congrats…
Let’s wait and see what Jean has to say…

Best,

Jerome

Hi Jerome.
Thank you for testing the library.

Best,

Paulo.

I haven’t had a chance to thoroughly test but at a quick glance this seems to be it. Your .omlib file just loads the file as it is supposed to.

Two minor things:

• you can remove the (print ...) from the .omlib file, since it won’t be evaluated anyway