< Back to IRCAM Forum

Understanding Database Type and Solution Display for feature extraction

I have been experimenting with MaxOrch for a few months now and enjoy it very much.
I am hoping to understand better how to use MaxOrch to help get features I am looking for from a given sound file.

I wanted to ask for further clarification/documentation or suggested reading to understand better the
‘database type’ field (1b on the interface) :
In other words, what are the differences between
‘mfcc vs moments vs spacenv vs specpeaks vs spectrum’ ?

Similarly,
in the ‘Solutions Corpus’ window, the grid is configurable according to ‘skewness vs. centroid, segnum vs solnum, or segnum vs centroid’

Is there any documentation or perhaps someone could suggest some reading so that I can understand these terms better (and how the results are organised)?

Thanks a lot in advance for any suggestions or clarifications,
J

Hello Jorge,

MaxOrch is built around the Orchidea package for Max, so we’ve applied the Orchidea team’s choices… We’re waiting for more documentation ourselves. The documentation included in the patch is what we can say about the parameters.

For 1b, no more information…

Carmine Cella is the right person for these questions. @carminecella

Best,

Jerome

Thank you for your reply Jerome, I will keep exploring and perhaps try to contact @carminecella if I don’t find anything.

All the best,
Jorge

I actually aksed Carmine about this in a conversation quite some time ago. I took notes as quickly as I could, but unfortunately I don’t think I was fast enough… Here are my notes:

to preserve the real pitches present in the target, use “spectrum”
to maximize the timbre similarity, use mfcc (Mel frequency cepstral coefficients)

You can use a set of different databases together, the only constraint is that each database should contain the same type of features (ex. MFCC).

Notes from convo w/ Carmine:
Overall the main variables are:

• emphasis on pitch vs. timbre