< Back to IRCAM Forum

Tutorial issues and Antescofo prospects

Hello
I’m new to antescofo but after just a couple of days working with it I managed to take a piece for cello and electronics that was previously operated by the cellist with a bluetooth pedal and make it fully automatic. And it even works better than the original version! I’m in complete awe over this and in slight shock that this isn’t something everything is using in their live electronic music.

I found the tutorials very helpful and easy to follow but they seem to be in need of an update (unless I somehow got an old version or something). The link to this forum is dead and the tutorial repeatedly mentions the use of Ascograph to convert files and follow the score which is a bit confusing when you are new to this and havn’t found out that Ascograph is actually dead and buried since several years ago. I then found in a different forum that the conversion should now be done online. Again, that lead to a few dead links before finding a new link that finally allowed me to convert scores. All a bit tedious and unnecessary, I must admit.

This led my thoughts to the bigger picture and the future prospects of Antescofo~. With the technology behind it now being made into a commercial product (Metronaut), can we be sure that the Antescofo~ will still be maintained and kept up to date 5 or 10 years from now? What is the “ownership” of the actual code? Is it Ircam or Metronaut? With no real alternative to the ascograph so many years after it was discontinued one can’t help but to feel that this project as a Max/MSP code isn’t on the top of anyones list to maintain.

This is a seriously powerful tool that I can see myself investing a lot of time and effort into but that of course requires that one can feel certain that this is not just going to fade into the abyss :slight_smile: Is there any chance you will make this into an open source project?