< Back to IRCAM Forum

Symbolic constant in data box

If a data box is a constant and (I’m not a lisp expert) (defconstant OCTAVE 1200) is a valid expression, how can I use OCTAVE instead of 1200 in a data box, a bit like:

#define OCTAVE 1200

in c

Thanks.

Hello. I’m not sure this is what you are asking, but assuming (defconstant OCTAVE 1200) was defined somewhere, then you need to use eval (car be included in a patch as any Lisp function) to evaluate the symbol OCTAVE

Please see attached,Magic numbers vs symbolic constants.pdf (203.3 KB)

So, as I suggested above, you can define your constants in a Lisp file and load it in your session by different means; see for instance:
https://cac-t-u-s.github.io/om-sharp/pages/lisp#load-your-lisp-files

In order to get the value, you need to connect the box with the symbol name to eval:

Screenshot 2021-04-11 at 22.43.57

Also note: “global variables” may be another means to acheive what you want to do, without typing any Lisp code.
https://cac-t-u-s.github.io/om-sharp/pages/global-variable

Just name it and set the value once / reuse anywhere.

Thanks!! I’ll look into this.

Sorry… (in om#)…

I’ve tried and tried…

• created lisp user code folder and told preferences where to find it.
  • made a file called OMLibrary.scm and placed the following in it:

(defconstant PI 3.141592)

• started om# and it responded:

; Loading text file L:\OM-PLUS-PLUS\LISP\OMLibrary.lisp
pi

(so far so good, I think)

• made a new patch and entered (PI) in a data box
  • evaluated it, it returned: OM# :: => (pi)
  • added eval box and tried again. The eval box returned: error while evaluating the box eval : undefined operator pi in form (pi)

(is there a tutorial on this?)

The file was called: OMLibrary.list, not OMLibrary.scm

OMLibrary.lisp, not OMLibrary.scm

This is most likely a simple package issue: Lisp symbols (variable/function names) are defined in so-called packages : Packages