< Back to IRCAM Forum

SDIF, SuperVP and Pm2 in MATLAB

Hi,

I’d really like to read and write SDIF files in MATLAB’s most recent installment (R2020a). What do I need to do make it happen? I’m quite new to MATLAB, so I feel I really need to do this by the book…

And last but not least, is there a way to run Pm2 and SuperVP in MATLAB R2020? If so, and yet again, what do I need to do to make it happen?

Any hints or insights on these issues would be much appreciated.

All the best,
António

For SDIF, there are some mex files and matlab scripts here: https://sourceforge.net/p/sdif/code/HEAD/tree/
(download or use svn to get the code)
The README file includes instructions, but matlab has because more and more restrictive when it comes to compiling mex-files, so YMMV (feel free to ask if you run in trouble, but I don’t have access to matlab 2020)
You will need cmake (https://cmake.org/) to compile these

As for pm2 and supervp, these are command line executables. So you would run these from matlab code using the system function. Again, depending on the platform and matlab setup you may run into issues (because matlab comes with a set of libraries that may interfere with supervp or pm2), in which came it might be better to run these from outside matlab.

Hi Frédéric,

Thank you. I’ll try to set it up as you prescribed, If I run into trouble I’ll check back…

I think I’ll keep running SuperVP and Pm2 commands outside of MATLAB only, then.

All the best,
António

Since this was posted under “Audiosculpt”, I guess you’re on mac. The “system” issues are most common with linux (apart from the usual Catalina issues, where you’re on your own because I don’t have access to Catalina), so it might still work (are you using the supervp/pm2 versions from Audiosculpt or those from the “Analysis/synthesis command line tools”?)