< Back to IRCAM Forum

OSCar not recognizing parameters in Reaper

Hello,

I’m fairly new to OSCar, so please forgive me if I’m making an amateurish mistake!

I’ve been experimenting with sending/receiving OSC data back and forth between Reaper and Spat objects in Max. I started out by using the example patch included with OSCar. Once I edited the oscar.xml file to follow the example given in OSCar-User-Manual.pdf, I was successfully able to write xyz automation in Reaper and then send it back to Max.

However, I decided that I’d much rather work with aed than xyz, so I modified the Max patch to reflect this. I also modified oscar.xml like so:

<?xml version=“1.2.2” encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<oscar version=“1.2.2”>
<parameter index="1" name=“Azimuth” pattern="/source/$1/azim” min=“-180” max=“180” default="0"/>
<parameter index="2" name=“Elevation” pattern="/source/$1/elev” min=“-90” max=“90” default="0"/>
<parameter index="3" name=“Distance” pattern="/source/$1/dist” min=“1” max=“12” default=“1”/>
<parameter index="4" name="pres" pattern="/source/$1/pres" min="0" max="120" default="40"/>
<parameter index="5" name="bril" pattern="/source/$1/bril" min="0" max="50" default="25"/>
<parameter index="6" name="warm" pattern="/source/$1/warm" min="0" max="50" default="25"/>
</oscar>

I’ve saved oscar.xml, closed it, and restarted Reaper, but I cannot get the parameters of azim, dist, and elev to show up as automation parameters in Reaper. In fact, what shows up is pretty inconsistent: currently I’m getting “param1” through “param32”. Sometimes I get just “pres” “bril” and “warm” with nothing else.

I edited the version number in oscar.xml to see if that would help, but I’m not sure it matters?

POST EDIT: Correction — I only get “pres” “bril” and “warm” when I do NOT edit the Oscar version number in the xml file. When I do, I only get “param1” through “param32”

Hello,