< Back to IRCAM Forum

Orchids With Screen Readers For the Blind

My name is Caglar Arsu. I am a blind classical composer. When I first heard about your revolutionary software Orchidée, I become so curious about two questions. First what is it all about, and more importantly, is it accessible for blind users. I have satisfied the answer of my first question by searching about it online but I have still no idea about my second question.
Since the first day I started my music education and career years ago, the most important obstacles I have run into have been the music software accessibility issues using with screen reader software designed for blind people such as Jaws for the Windows or Voice over for MAC.
As an example, the notation software Sibelius was made accessible for blind users only on the third version nearly in the year of 2003 and it was never further developed later on. The notation softwere Lime that I currently use is very limited for composers who adapted contemporary approach into their musical language. And no other notation software including Finale or Notion is even a question of accessibility.
And there are many other numberless examples.
By reaching you I would like to ask you two different questions. First is Orchidée accessible for blind users or it can be considered to be made accessible if it is already not?
Second and maybe more importantly, would that be any interest for people who created Orchidée to make existing music software fully accessible or create a completely new one from scratch?

I absolutely appreciate for any answer in advance.
May your research and development be productive and happy!
With my very best regards
Caglar Arsu

Dear Caglar,