< Back to IRCAM Forum

OM-Chant 3.0 file error

Hello - I’m new to Chant, and haven’t used OM for a number of years. I’ve downloaded Chant 3.0 and am running OM 6.15 (on macOS Mojave 10.14). Every time I run any one of the tutorial patches I get the same type of error: Screenshot 2020-05-10 at 15.56.54|614x500

The only thing I’m unsure about is that after I installed the library, there was no option to add specify a file path in the externals of preferences, so I just specified the Chant path for the multiplayer field. I’m not sure if this has anything to do with the error, or is a problem.

Dear Chris,

No you need to point int the external preferences to the chant binary. It is in the library itself in : resources/bin/macos/ Choose the chant binary and this will work.

Best
K

Hello. Can you check / report what’s in the OM Listener when you run the synthesis ?

In principle OM-Chant 3.0 includes Chant binaries so you shouldn’t have to set the Chant path anywhere.

Best,
—Jean

Thank you both! The listener is giving me this: Workspace loaded
APPLYING PREFERENCES…
OM > “Library OM-Chant (3.0) already exists!!”
APPLYING PREFERENCES…
Loading patch: /Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/elements/OMio-master-tutorial-patches/csv/1. csv-floats-in.omp
Loading patch: /Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/elements/OM-Chant-tutorial-patches/04-basic-fof.omp
Loading sound file info: ‘/Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/out-files/ch_04-basic-fof.aiff’
Error loading file #P"/Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/out-files/ch_04-basic-fof.aiff"
OM > “Initializing SDIF…”
OM-Chant :: ==========================
OM-Chant :: CHANT synthesis patch: 0
OM-Chant :: CHANT SYNTHESIS
OM-Chant :: Running CHANT with /Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/out-files/ch_04-basic-fof.sdif
OM-Chant :: Number of channels= 1
Removing files:
#P"/Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/out-files/ch_04-basic-fof.sdif"
Loading sound file info: ‘/Users/applemac/Documents/OM Start/out-files/ch_04-basic-fof.aiff’