< Back to IRCAM Forum

Mubu granular Hoa Example - Per-grain SPAT question

Hi there,

Just getting my head around the use of multiple output channels in mubu/mc.mubu.granular~ and am curious about per-grain spatialisation, and how the mubu.granular~ outputs grains when set to multiple outputs.

I’ve been hacking the Mubu HOA spatialisation example granular-hoa-spatialization, combining it with the awesome mfcc moaicing example. I’m new to mubu.granular~, but was excited to see ‘per-grain spatialisation’ listed in this hoa example.

After doing some digging into the spat code, I’m not sure it actually is per-grain spatialisation technically, is it? It’s balancing the outputgains using the spat trajectories, but as all grains are sent to all channels with duplicate channels enabled (or pairs of channels) and the spat movement is unrelated to this, it’s not really spatialising per grain. Basically, I’d love to spatialise each output as a spat source, but this would only be useful if it’s receiving a unique stream of grains.

Is it possible to have mubu.granular~ output each grain to a different output when specifying multiple outputs in the object, somewhat like managing polyphony? If I’ve missed something and it does this already, I’d be keen to know how to achieve this!

Sorry for the long question, and thanks Aaron and Thibault for the inspiration.

Ben

Hi Ben, great question!

Each grain is spatialised at the current individual but fixed position (you can trigger 100 grains at the same time at different spatial positions). The trick to get movement is to play one grain after the other of a longer file along a trajectory.
Also look at [p output parameters] of mubu.concat help for some explanation.

For grains at individual outputs, just send outputgains with all but one value 0 before triggering each grain.

Best, Diemo

Hi Diemo,

Thanks for this, appreciate the reply :slight_smile: