< Back to IRCAM Forum

Library for reading .txt files

Hi everybody,

I’ve made this micro-library (OMRead-txt) to import .txt files into OM. The main idea is to place all .txt files in the library “sources” folder in order to make them accessible to OM. I don’t know if it works in all computers and systems and also, since i’m a beginner in Common Lisp, I don’t know if it is useful to other users or even if is a naive solution.

There is a example of the library in the tutorial and all suggestions are welcome.

Best Regards!

Paulo Henrique Raposo

OMRead-txt.zip (81.3 KB)

Hi Paulo,

Good you have started a library. All new libraries are welcomed for extra functionalities.
In your case, this is already one in OpenMusic’s object you can do by using the textfile object:
Screenshot_2021-01-01_18-13-39
This same object allows you to save or load a textfile also.

Best wishes
K

1 Like

Hi Karim,
Thank you for your response.
My main doubt was about the pathname created through a global variable and if this solution works in all computers and systems (Windows, Mac and Unix). This is the code:

In the library main file

(in-package :om)
(defvar OMRead-txt-path (make-pathname :directory (append (pathname-directory load-pathname) (list “sources”))))

In the file where the functions are located

(in-package :OMRead-txt)

(defun string-to-list (str)
(if (not (streamp str))
(string-to-list (make-string-input-stream str))
(if (listen str)
(cons (read str) (string-to-list str))
nil)))

(defun read-text-file (string)
(let ((stream (open (merge-pathnames om::OMRead-txt-path (parse-namestring (concatenate 'string string “.txt”))))))
(om::flat-once (string-to-list stream))))