< Back to IRCAM Forum

Iterative process determined by its own output

Hello,
I am new to OpenMusic, so I apologize if this is a basic question or is covered elsewhere, but I couldn’t find it in the documentation. I’m trying to generate a list of numbers which employs a variety of semi-randomized processes. The first number should be randomly selected between 2 and 11, all the following numbers should be determined by the number preceding them, and the list should end when a number is equal to its position in the list (i.e. the fourth item is “4”), or else when the length of the list is 11 items. So if a number in the list n is even (and is not identical to its position in the list), the following number will either be 3/2n or n/2 + 1 (which generative procedure is used for the following number is randomized). If n is odd the procedures are different.
I figured out the first step—generating the second number of the list on the basis of the first (randomly selected) number—and have attached a screenshot of that, to give a better idea of what I’m looking for (the second “omif” function makes sure that the number generated is between 2 and 11). But I’m struggling to figure out how to turn this into an iterative process, so that an entire list is generated simply from one user-evaluation. I tried playing around with the accum object in omloop, but I can’t figure out how to make it so that the “list” in the first input is itself generated by a process that, at each step of the iteration, evaluates the outcome of the previous step, nor how to make it so that the first step of the iteration evaluates a different input—namely the result of the om-random at the top of the screenshot.
I hope I have been clear enough in my description of this—let me know if there are any necessary clarifications, and thanks in advance for the help.
Theo

Dear theokoskoff,

Very interesting problem. However could you: