< Back to IRCAM Forum

How to read 3D mesh files in Modalys for Max

Hi, I’m new to both of those software so I’m still clueless to most features here, and I’m using Windows so it’s just Max and I don’t have ModaLisp. In what directory should I place the mesh file? How do I properly read that .mesh/.msh file without error? Is the read-from-file object treated as a resonator? Does it have to be a hexahedral mesh, or can it be triangular? Last, how do the position settings work here?
Attached is the test file I’m trying to read (triangular mesh) agong.mesh (342.9 KB)

Hello,

Your triangular polygon “agong.mesh” does not work in ModaLisp.

— The location of the mesh file should specified with a path within the mlys or maxpat file. The easiest would just put everything into the same folder.
— The extension could indeed be .mesh, .msh, .data or whatever you want at the condition it is not a binary mesh. Modalys does not take STL files.
— Modalys very unfortunately does NOT work with triangular meshes; but rather hexahedral ones. You then need to remesh it using another software. That process is not so easy and I did not find any simple software doing that.
If you know something easy running under MacOS… I could not find out if MeshLab or Gmsh were doing it. I am using Rhino for now but, unless you are doing other stuff with it, it is a bit cumbersome for such a direct conversion.

O.

Thanks for the reply! So you use Rhino to convert to hexahedral mesh? I’ll look around for software and try to work on making a hexahedral mesh first, then I’ll update afterwards. For the file path, what is the syntax? Is the file path and name typed after the “read from file” object?

Hi,

So you use Rhino to convert to hexahedral mesh?

I am using it for other means so I indeed also use it for hexahedral meshing.
But I am also looking for a quick workflow and therefore a way to re-mesh from triangular polygons to hexahedral ones.