< Back to IRCAM Forum

Best practices for short gesture recognition?

Hi!

I am trying to achieve reliable and responsive detection of a few (up to 5-6 let’s say, but currently 2) short gestures, let’s say swipe left, swipe right, and idle. My current input is the accelerometer data (with gravity). I am interested in making a dataset to show enough variance to the model. Currently I have three labels, “left”, “right”, and “still”, the latter for everything else which is not a swipe-to-left or swipe-to-right gesture. I have 10 instances of each class. So here are some questions:

1. Which one is the best object for this use case? mubu.gmm, mubu.hhmm or mubu.xmm?

2. How many examples / class are needed for consistent results? The case is 2 short gestures (let’s say 0.3-0.6 s long) plus the class for filtering out everything else (for which the examples are 5-6 s long random stuff). My background is working with LSTMs so I am used to much bigger datasets, but my hunch was that maybe it is not necessary in this case? Should 10 be enough? Less, more?

3. I started with mubu.gmm, then moved on to mubu.hhmm. With some tweaking of the parameters I get fairly OK results with not so much noise or misfiring. But it always takes some time for mubu.hhmm to go back from either “left” or “right” to “still”. So I cannot quickly retrigger the same gesture over and over, since it always takes around 0.5-1.5 s to go back to “still”. Which setting could make this transition faster? (Whithout losing precision.)

4. About the training data. I noticed that I got better results with mubu.hhmm when I recorded the gesture with not so much “idle” before and after the action. How extreme should I be with this? Should I precisely select the gesture with markers removing as much idle from the recording as possible? Would this possibly also help the previous issue?